Rural Broadband Initiative (phase two) (RBI2)/Mobile Black Spots Fund (MBSF) 2018-03-13T21:33:42+00:00

Announcements made on 30th August

Crown Fibre Holdings has entered into contracts with the Rural Connectivity Group (Spark, Vodafone and 2degrees) and with a number of Wireless Internet Service Providers to deliver the RBI2/MBSF programme.

The contracts provide for:

  • improved rural broadband to be extended to more than 70,000 rural households and businesses (including commercial expansion by some of the Mobile Network Operators);
  • new mobile coverage for around 1,000 kilometres of state highways and more than 100 tourist destinations;
  • lifting nationwide geographic mobile coverage by 20-30 per cent (from approximately 50 per cent currently); and open access to Government-funded infrastructure (such as towers), meaning that other operators can share that infrastructure under defined terms (there are some exemptions from these obligations by regional operators).

An additional $100 million is also committed for further expansion of RBI2 and MBSF, which is targeting another 10 per cent of the households and businesses that were in scope for the RBI2/MBSF programme being able to access improved broadband.

The three mobile network operators have between them committed to funding new towers to provide coverage for a further 31,000 households and businesses, 13 tourist locations and up to 148 kilometres of state highways themselves, with no funding from Government.

Crown Fibre Holdings has also entered into contracts with nine regional Wireless Internet Service Providers:

  • (Gisborne and North Hawke’s Bay)
  • (Manawatu and Whanganui)
  • AoNet (King Country, Manawatu and Whanganui)
  • Primo Wireless (Taranaki)
  • NZ Tech (Central Hawke’s Bay)
  • Wiz Wireless (Wairarapa, Wellington)
  • AmuriNet (North Canterbury)
  • Ultimate Broadband (Central/South Canterbury)
  • Unifone (Otago)

Fact Sheet-PDF


Media release from Hon Simon Bridges – 30 August 2017 
Questions & Answers

Tables and Maps

RBI North and South Island Map
Regional map – Auckland
Regional map – Bay of Plenty
Regional map – Canterbury (inc. Chathams)
Regional map – Gisborne
Regional map – Hawke’s Bay
Regional map – Manawatu-Wanganui
Regional map – Nelson and Marlborough
Regional map – Northland
Regional map – Otago
Regional map – Southland
Regional map – Taranaki
Regional map – Tasman
Regional map – Waikato
Regional map – Wellington
Regional map – West Coast

RBI2 and MBSF National Map
RBI2 and MBSF breakdown by region
MBSF State highway coverage
MBSF Tourism area coverage