What is happening in my community? 2017-06-02T17:11:06+00:00

In some communities groups of stakeholders with an interest in Ultra-Fast Broadband have formed to consider ways of leveraging the benefits of fibre. These include representatives of local businesses, the health and education sectors, local iwi; community organisations like High Tech Youth and Computers in Homes; and members of local ICT clusters. They generally have  the support of the local council and/or economic development agency. In some towns and cities there’s simply a local UFB champion rather than a group in operation. Initiatives to make the most of fibre include:

  • councils working in partnership with fibre providers on a “one dig” policy and other “fibre friendly” activities;
  • councils, Chambers of Commerce, Principals’ Associations, and PHO’s communicating UFB rollout plans to their constituent groups;
  • identification of exemplar users of fibre in the community willing to act as “ambassadors”;
  • development and communication of case studies of fibre in use in different sectors;
  • business mentoring;
  • local schools’ professional development and ICT clusters;
  • community ICT hubs where residents can experience applications and services over fibre,  in libraries and elsewhere;
  • technology expos and/or an experience centre to showcase applications and services over UFB;
  • building digital capability in business sectors of competitive advantage with training in how to capture the value of emerging technologies.

If there’s not a Digital Leadership Forum in your area and you would like to establish one, please contact Crown Fibre Holdings.

See below for a list of such forums and stakeholders in your area supporting the UFB rollout:

Location

Who

Organisation

Email

WhangareiMike PreeceNorthland Incmike@northlandinc.co.nz
AucklandRobert LundbergAuckland Councilrobert.lundberg@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
New PlymouthJohn HaylockVenture Taranakijohn@venture.org.nz
WanganuiMarianne ArchibaldWanganui
District Council
Marianne.Archibald@wanganui.govt.nz
TaurangaGreg SimmondsPriority Onegreg@priorityone.co.nz
WhakataneGerard CaseyEastern Bay of PlentyChamber of Commercegerard@ebopchamber.co.nz
GisborneMeng FoonGisborne District Councilmayor@gdc.govt.nz
Palmerston NorthLeith HaarhoffPalmerston North City Libraryhaarhoffl@pncc.govt.nz
Kapiti CoastMike CourtneyKapiti Digital Leader Forumconnect@ufbkapiti.info
Greater WellingtonColin DrewGreater Wellington Regional Councilcolin.drew@gw.govt.nz
Upper HuttChris UptonUpper Hutt City Councilchris.upton@uhcc.govt.nz
NelsonBill FindlaterNelson Regional EDAbill@eda.co.nz
ChristchurchHelen ShorthouseCanterbury Development Corporationhelen.shorthouse@cdc.org.nz
DunedinStuart Dillon-RobertsDigital Officehello@digitaloffice.co.nz